New Year Pursuit Race 6th January 2019

Thirteen boats launched on a fairly windless Hedgecourt for the annual pursuit race. Race Officer, Dave Clark postponed the race briefly until a light westerly wind appeared. The boats launched at pre-specified time intervals from a start line set off the far jetty. First to go was a Topper 4.2 then the Toppers, Comets, Comet Versas and Magno and finally an RS Quest and a Laser 2. Bob cleverly started in the shallows and sailing by the lee was first Comet to escape from the rather windless Clubhouse corner. He then sailed an exemplary race, quickly reeling in the Toppers and extending his lead to lap most of the fleet and some of it twice. Further down the fleet Caroline Whittle and Alan Carlile got their Laser 2 up to hull speed even in the light airs and overtook much of the fleet.

The finishing order was 1 Bob Dodds (Comet) 2 Mike Thompson (Comet) 3 Natasha Hobbs and Alan Carlile (Laser 2) 4 Ed Neil (Comet) 5 Miles Vidler and Daisy Hobbs (Topper Magno) 6 Amy Gibson (Comet) 7 Edwin Cross (Topper) 8 Andrew Keynes and Doug Reed (Comet Versa) 9 Caroline Whittle (Comet) 10 Samson Cross (Topper) 11 Anna Edwards (Topper 4.2) 12 Philip and George Colcombe (RS Quest) 13 Alan Gaughran (Comet Versa)

After the racing the somewhat chilly sailors adjourned to the Clubhouse for some very welcome mulled wine and nibbles organised by Pamela Rothwell. The traditional silly hats (some now animated!) were carefully inspected and judged rigorously.

 The awards were as follows

1st Comet and 1st Overall Bob Dodds

1st Single-hander and 1st U13 Edwin Cross

1st Double-handers Natasha Hobbs and Alan Carlile.

1st Lady Amy Gibson

1st Novice Samson Cross

 “Oldest and baddest” pair on the water Andrew Keynes and Doug Reed

 Winner of funny hat competition Samson Cross

 Runner up George Colcombe

 Everyone taking part seemed to enjoy the day. Our new 2019 season will soon be starting with the Warm-up series in March. See you there.

Comet Downwind

Bob sailing his Comet downwind